So I guess that being an artistic person and a designer, I like change, so for those of you who are used to seeing pink…it’s okay..it’s still me! :>)  This is my new fall theme, and I am so into collecting orchids right now, I had to use my orchid picture for the header.  ” Joe ”  my orchid guy ( that is his real name ) has been feeding my addiction lately by sharing some incredible new orchid varieties with me. I am struggling to learn the care requirements and names and species of them all.  He came in this week to check out my last weeks purchases, one had dropped all of it’s buds, so I was disappointed.  When I asked Joe to look at it..he calmly said ” it died from drowning! ”  It just served as a reminder to me that even though I know not to overwater, I forgot and left it sit inside another pot, that held the water, which wicked it up through the roots and made it far to wet.  Fortunately for me, he comes by my store weekly, so he saved my baby orchid.  He reminded me once again that the real problem with orchids is too much water.

I have customers call me all the time, asking if I am sure that it can survive on such little water, and it’s true, less water is the key to survival, unless of course you get some new special variety, that needs water twice a week?? I’m not kidding, that’s what makes orchids so interesting, there is so much to learn. 

One of the new plants that I just purchased, has a little history behind it, Joe was telling me that breeders believe that it might be the parent orchid called psychopsis of the dancing lady oncidium ( we call it a yellow popcorn orchid ). It looks a little like a dancing lady, but maybe two to three times the size, and it just gets 1 bloom on the end of the long spike which lasts for a very long time, it will eventually drop the one bloom and then another bloom will pop out at the very end of the spike. He says you never cut the spike back on this particular variety, since its new blooms come from the end of the spike.  It’s flower looks like a giant spider, rather scary looking in a way.  I actually thought it was a spider, when I found a dropped bloom on the carpet. I can’t even remember the name right now, but I’ll post it and a picture when the next bloom comes out.  I also added a new one that has a chocolate fragrance.  I love it!  I’ll try to get some photos and varieties listed soon. In the meantime, check out this fabulous site that has some amazing slideshows of orchids. http://www.orchidworks2.com/default2.asp

