So today I was reminded of something during my wedding consultation that I wanted to share with brides.  I always encourage my brides  to remember that they are making a memory.  Weddings are stressful events, and there are any number of things that can go wrong in the whole process.  ( and something usually does go wacky ) which is true for any event you are planning, not just weddings. 

If you’ve ever seen an episode of Bridezilla, you know that some families don’t handle stress very well.  I’ve dealt with all kinds of brides, mothers of brides,  stepmothers of brides, and future mother in laws of brides and the one thing that never changes is they all need to be reminded that they are making a memory.  I always tell my brides to remember that while it is one of the most important days of your life, it’s still just ” one day ” and this too shall pass.  My advice is keep cool and remember to laugh at that most stressful moments rather than lose it, and ruin the day with tears or anger. 

One of my brides was married on a cruise ship,  she called me after the wedding to share her story.  During the cruise the wave action got a little crazy, and right at the very moment they were to cut the cake, a rogue wave rocked the ship and the cake fell over sideways!  She specifically had to call me to say thanks for making her and all the guests laugh when it happened.  She told the guests “my florist prepared me for something like this” :>)

I remember one time when I had a cake delivery guy show up with a smashed cake. I guess it slid off the rack in the delivery van, but he delivered it anyway because this wedding was also taking place on a a ship and it was set to sail, so there was no time to worry about it or really fix it.  I took the cake and put it on a table, with the bad side to the wall, covered the smashed part with flowers and told everyone not to tell the bride until after the ceremony.  As it was, she never noticed it until it was time to cut the cake.  When she found out I had kept it from her,  she called to thank me for protecting her from the stress. 

Another time my bride forgot to pick up her bouquet, I tried to discourage her from burdening herself by having to pick it up, but she wanted to save the $10 delivery.  The day of the wedding, I was frantic, trying to reach her by phone, her work kept trying to reach her, it was crazy.

 It was after they returned from the honeymoon that I heard the story.  It wasn’t until the ceremony began that she realized she did not have her flower bouquet. She ended up carrying a silk poinsettia bush that she pulled out of a pot at the hotel where the event was being held.  She said that everyone laughed so hard, it was the silliest most stupid thing ever, but they never forgot it! She still has that stupid silk bush and the memories that go with it.

My husband & I still laugh about our honeymoon which we spent in Cananda, having a romantic dinner in a very elegant & extremely upscale restaurant. We ordered wine with our meal, and I had one glass and was immediately feeling it. I began to attempt to cut my steak with a not so sharp knife, which wasn’t working to well, suddenly this big steak flew off my plate and landed on the floor with a flop! I was so embarrassed, everyone in the restaurant had the same horrified look,  and I was wishing I could crawl under the table.  To this day, on our anniversary, my husband always invites me out to dinner by asking me if I want to go throw some steak around the restaurant.  We definitely made a memory because it’s been years and we still laugh about it!

So my advice…..It’s a big day, enjoy it, embrace the mishaps, and have fun making memories!

