So I’m a true North Westerner….  I can handle the rain just fine…I can even handle the snow that we get once or twice a season…but winter hasn’t even officially started and I am already tired of it.  I actually love the snow, but it’s one of those things that I like to choose to go visit, by taking a trip to the mountains.   :>)  True to my nature, I’ve  begun making my spring garden plans already, hopefully I can move winter along!

Wow, this is a rough start to the winter season, a foot of snow is a lot of snow for the  entire winter season in our area, let alone a foot of snow in one day.  The roads are a mess, and I don’t think the 14 degrees F, which was last nights temperature,  is going to help my commute  in the morning either.  Seattle is known for it’s hills,  so you can forget driving any where if it’s icy.  We’re just not very good at it!  The hottest selling item around here right now are Yaktrax walkers , which are a device that straps on the bottom of your shoes so you can walk on ice!  You can buy them at REI, which is one of my favorite stores to go shopping at.

yaktrax1

Now I’m looking for the flashlights, the candles, the firewood,the matches,  & getting ready for the 60 mph winds that are supposed to be coming down through the Cascade foothills to blast us with power outages and more snow…remind me again, when does winter officially start?

So I wanted to share my plans as to how I plan to  occupy myself when the power goes off.  I plan on making fudge for Santa!  Yep, traditional Christmas fudge, and I hope he eats it all.  Luckily I have a gas range and it works when the power it out.  So here is my Traditional Christmas Fudge recipe:

This makes 2 lbs

2 T butter

2/3 cup undiluted evaporated can milk

1/4 tsp salt

2 cups mini marshmallows

1 1/2 cups (9  oz) semi sweet chocolate chips

1/2 cup chopped nuts

1 tsp vanilla extract

Mix the butter, milk, sugar, & salt, bring to a boil & cook for 4-5 minutes. Remove from the heat add the marshmallows, chocolate chips, nuts, & vanilla.

Pour in an 8″ square pan and chill until firm.

It’s easy to make  and I’m sure the kids & Santa will enjoy it!  Enjoy the winter weather, which BTW actually started today  :>)  I can’t wait to see what winter weather will be bringing me for Christmas!

