Sustainable spaces and beautiful places was the theme for this years NW  Flower & Garden Show.  It worked… there were a lot of great things to look at.  Anytime you get this many creative folks under one roof, how can you have anything but an energized day!

I thought I would post my favorite small things, that may have been overlooked in all the big massive garden displays.  There is so much to absorb in a big show, but I tried to look for small pleasures..here is what I found on my adventurous journey this afternoon.

http://www.sogetsuikebana.com/

Sogetsu Ikebana

Sogetsu Ikebana

I really loved the intricate detail of the worm wood and how they took advantage of it in this design. The contorted willow gracefully emerging from one of the holes. I took a free class at the library on Sogetsu Ikebana, and for something so simple and graceful, it is full of very complex principles. It takes time to master the art.  What I love is how they take the most natural of materials and allow each element to emerge from the design.  The whole Ikebana display area was beautiful!

a small world garden

a small world garden

http://www.smallworldgardens.com This booth had three beautiful landscapes all done in minuture. You can see the scale when you realize that these are barbie dolls.  This is the website. I enjoyed picking out at the small lovely details. It was like browsing art in a museum. I almost missed it!

Memory Garden

Memory Garden

recyled products garden show www.mygardennursery.com This company has a garden called the Plant a head for Alzheimer’s Memory Garden.  Purple is the color for Alzheimer’s like pink is for breast cancer.  The heads symbolize knowledge, dreams, and memories, and the millions of people who suffer from the disease which slowly takes this all away.  Check out their cause.


Moss wall sponsored by Smith and Hawken

Moss wall sponsored by Smith and Hawken

http://www.smithandhawken.com

What a great fence! I love the idea of a living fence !  This was a wall in one of the gardens, there were a lot of booths that had this idea of living walls, fences and roofs.  I love the texture and color as well.

Another idea along the same idea was this living wreath done with sedums of various varieties and mosses, and ground covers. This was done by a local gardeners society

living wreath

A living wreath of sedum

A gardening wall

http://www.lifestyle-landscapes.com

A gardening wall. A terrific idea for small spaces, the display was really stunning ! This company does landscape, lighting, etc.  What really captured my fancy on this was the use of the material. The most imaginative creative & cool use of rebar material!
