So many changes have taken place in flower production methods, this frontline pbs video is just one great example of how the world of flowers has changed.   It’s important to ask how the product you buy is produced, not necessarily organic, but humane and ethical treatment of human beings.  I deal with a small farm in Ecuador and they are like my friends, it’s important to me to know they are treated well.

One of my rose farm workers in Ecuador, recently sent me a lovely gift, a piece of woven material made by the indigenous people of the Andes. It is the most beautiful scarf I’ve ever seen.  So fine and delicate, hard to believe that it is hand made.  I asked her to tell me about it, and she said there are lots of little markets, with crafts, and farmers, and this video shows one of them.

I was fascinated to hear the description of the life of a weaver, how it is a way of life, a choice, a tradition, the heritage that they embrace.  I loved this video, and although my cloth did not come from Peru, but Ecuador, the story she told me was similar.  Enjoy

The video is from 4real.c0m a community of individuals from around the world who are passionate about creating social change through action, art, and culture.                          http://www.4real.com

