I really enjoy watching the hummingbirds which come to my feeders, last year I was so busy, that I bought premade store  food rather than take the time to make it myself like I usually do.  I noticed that the birds hated the mixture of food that I bought, so much so that they quit coming to the feeder.  I learned my lesson, this year I added my homemade nectar to the feeder  and they are back and loving it.  It’s so easy and inexpensive to make.

Here’s the recipe: 1 part sugar to 4 parts water…yep that’s it!

You boil 1 cup of water and then add 1/4 cup of sugar, let cool and add it to the feeder. They LOVE it! I don’t add red dye, since it’s not healthy. It doesn’t seem to change how often the birds visit either,  so I just leave it out.

You can attract hummingbirds to your yard by planting flowers that they love.  The number one plant that hummingbirds love is penstemon, there are many different varieties so plant any one of them.   It takes a lot of flowers to feed one little bird, so happy planting.

I’ve been trying to capture a picture of the little guy, but he’s to fast. Yesterday he was just sitting there for maybe 5 minutes, but when I went to get my camera he flew away.  He’s hard to capture on film.  But I’ll keep trying, and post the picture if I can catch him 🙂

