http://www.seattlestyle.com

A great place to check out what is happening around the Seattle area. This is a great article on eco chic style  if you are interested in having an wedding in Seattle, or maybe even ideas you can take away for your own event.  They have some really great tips, most of the things are the same things I always tell my brides. This has some terrific information on all sorts of wedding information.

Everyone is into  eco-chic weddings,  me included, but I am having a problem with one aspect that everyone keeps talking about 🙂 .  I keep hearing  everyone say that we  should buy local and buy organic, but I feel like it’s just a “buzz” term.  I feel like this isn’t a realistic goal. Can someone shed some light on how to do wedding flowers all year in the Pacific NW if  can only buy local?

I’ve lived here most of my life, and I can’t imagine what kind of wedding flowers I am going to have at my wedding here in Seattle if I am going to buy local & organic in October,  November, December, January, February, March, and maybe even into April.  Take salal for instance,  it’s a year round native greenery that grows here, but it’s either got too new of growth to use when it is in it’s soft spring green stage, to old of growth when covered with bug bites, and only a few months out of the year when it looks beautiful to use in wedding work.  What am I going to do if your wedding is in January if I have to buy local?

I just finished reading a booked called “Plenty”  by Alisa Smith & JB Mackinnon which was a really human story about two people trying to eat locally only on  food that was grown within a short distance of their home. It was enlightening to say the least.  I don’t think I will ever view a farmers market quite the same.  It was an experiment called the 100 mile diet. You will learn alot, the least of which is to realize that the average and typical diet you sit down to enjoy has traveled between 1,500 and 2,00 miles.  Good luck with eating local! I’m not saying it isn’t possible, I’m just asking if it is what we truly want? If you are interested in the subject or the premise, I suggest reading the book.

Let me point out that it is almost Easter and I am just now starting to get buds, ( not a sign of blooms) on my snowball bushes or my lilac bushes, and if you want to talk about the peonies??? forget it.  I am expecting to see those around the end of June this year if I am lucky.

I was recently talking to one of the local growers up in the Skagit Valley which is a large growing area north of Seattle.  We were discussing the Tulip festival, we both were worried about even having tulips for the festival.  The tulips we are getting right now are coming in from the greenhouses.  The field tulips are barely starting to show yet. Weird weather!

I am such a big fan of buying local and organic, but this is the Pacific Northwest,  and I have to get real here because we have such a short growing season.  I’m so thankful for places around the world that have the climate which enable them to grow product year round and provide a living wage for small farmers worldwide and at the same time give all of us the choice to have what we want, when we want it.  The only other option is  to get married in July, August, or September if you live here in the Pacific NW.   🙂

