As a Floral Designer I constantly struggle to find the perfect color combination.  So many times I am inspired by nature. Sometimes  it comes from a garden or a mountain hillside or a hummingbird or butterfly, they are all a medium for me to use and study and experiment with color.  I truly am a lover of color, as most of my clients already know. I can’t tell you how many times customers call to thank me for the beautiful flowers and to express their praise about the color!  That always makes me feel good, because it means I am doing a good job with observation when I am outside enjoying the natural world.

I ran across this blog post, which just completely captured my attention, because it is truly how I think about color! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did  http://www.colourlovers.com/blog/2007/06/01/colorful-beauty-in-nature-butterflies/ I loved the way they used the butterflies to categorize the color pallete’s  of nature, and it really does a great job of describing the artistic process that happen in a creative artist’s brain.

It just goes to show you how little control we have over color.  I always try to express this to my brides.  Nature makes it the way it does, depending upon how much water, how much sun, how long the season is this year, etc..it  all has impact on how the finished product ( the flower ) turns out.  I can order yellow, but it might come in faded yellow due to too much sunshine this year.  I can plan on peonies for a wedding in June, but nature has control! This year the peonies came early, so much for June Brides planning on Peonies.  Even worse yet, I can get a call from the grower in Ecuador telling me the fields were flooded, and there is nothing left.  Nature  has a way of always taking control in this business.  Of course I love it and that is why I do what I do, but it is not a business for the faint of heart!   And of course when you are dealing with “Nature”  you need to know how to spell ” STRESS”  🙂    I’m just kidding around because I love wedding season, it’s just that nature doesn’t like to be agreeable sometimes.

