Recently I became aware of this organization which is doing a lot to eradicate poverty and promote trade standards in the agriculture business around the world.  I feel pretty good about what they are doing.  You can read their mission statement  here: http://www.fintrac.com/ You can also ready more about them here too:  http://tradestandards.org/en/Partner.6.asp

Take for example, pesticide use.  I have spoken with many growers, who live in other countries, who laugh at the idea that we can have flowers from the jungle without the use of pesticides. They really laugh when I talk to them about my “green ideas” and how they can put them into practice.  They tell me that I do not understand what it is like to live in a tropical jungle.  I guess I can’t argue with that, since I’ve never lived in a jungle.  :>)

I’ve come to realize that what is most important to me, is how people are treated, and how safe the products that they use are for me and the consumer to handle.  I’ve learned from experience that I have to use something to fight the slugs in my garden, and it’s my responsibility to find a way to do it that isn’t going to harm the environment, or me.

I admire this company for putting so much money into making the global agricultural economy better for us all.

