Before I became a florist,  I wasn’t very aware about the weather around the globe.  I had know clue just how global weather could wreak such havoc in an industry.  I talked to so many florists around the country today, & everyone of them were worrying & wondering when their flowers were going to arrive?  Mine happen to be coming through a Memphis hub, so who knew that I would need to worry about a foot of snow getting dumped in the region and causing flight delays?  It became pretty apparent today that it didn’t matter what hub your flowers were flying through, there were and still are delays! Blessings to all of my fellow florist friends who may be under just a little stress right at this moment with this weather situation.  http://www.suntimes.com/3624020-417/delivery-package-chicago-company-couple.html

I’ve been punching that tracking number in hourly hoping for a sign that the flowers are at least moving some where!  I was so excited to see that one out of my 17 boxes had hit Seattle at 5 pm this evening. Yeah? I think? Which one of the boxes arrived, the wedding flowers for the Valentines Day wedding?  The flowers for the wedding showcase on Saturday?  Oh and lets not forget the other 16 boxes of roses and spray roses and all kinds of cool flowers I have ordered.   Luckily, I bought from multiple places, so I have flowers galore, but, I surely did have plans for the rest of those flowers :>)  First I will have a talk with the Flower Gods tonight and hopefully my boxes will appear tomorrow.  Then I will plan an after Valentines Day party and celebrate.

I’m pretty sure you won’t find me blogging for the next few nights but I will be burning the midnight oil getting those flowers processed, hydrated and designed for my valued customers. Just like this pretty one for a client’s party.

All White Contemporary

 

 

In spite of it all, if I may borrow a term from history~ The ancient Greek historian, Herodutus, produced the unofficial motto of the modern mail service when he wrote about another rapid horse relay postal system operating in ancient Persia.  Herodutus’ familiar words of about 2,500 years ago are:  “Neither snow, nor rain, nor heat, nor gloom of night, stays these couriers from the swift completion of their appointed rounds.”

And after reading the history of the Pony Express, I drew inspiration http://www.buffalobilldays.org/history/express-history.htm

The flowers must go through!  Sorry I took a little liberty with their motto, but you get the general idea!

